Feel Good Songs: “Don’t Give Up”

“You Are Loved (Don’t Give Up)”

For the last two weeks, I’ve had a sore throat. I’m finding it hard to feel like I’m able to express myself; I feel others trying to silence and control me … I can relate to this song so much, and I kind of imagine Groban singing words that Jesus would say. I try very hard at communicating, writing things out deliberately, consulting with my wife, seeing if they make sense, and if they can be misunderstood.

Unfortunately, I’ve found those who are either complete idiots or very uncharitable in all of their interpretations. I’ve found those who say I’m not allowed to have an opinion or express it because I’m male. I’ve found those who say I’m not allowed to have an opinion or express it because I’m not a teacher… I guess I should remember that these people are just bullies. No one has the right to silence anyone else simply because they disagree.

I want to be understood, and if I take the effort to write out a 1000 word blog post, you should expect that I care about it, that I’ve taken the effort to rethink and re-word it. In essence, you should at least read it before criticizing it or me for “having the gall to express myself”.

But Christ has not called me to be weak, to be submissive, or unfaithful to my calling. He encourages me to not give up, to always be true to myself. God help me, I will try.

Don’t give up
It’s just the weight of the world
When your heart’s heavy
I…I will lift it for you

Don’t give up
Because you want to be heard
If silence keeps you
I…I will break it for you

Everybody wants to be understood
Well I can hear you
Everybody wants to be loved
Don’t give up
Because you are loved

v2
Don’t give up
It’s just the hurt that you hide
When you’re lost inside
I…I will be there to find you

Don’t give up
Because you want to burn bright
If darkness blinds you
I…I will shine to guide you

Everybody wants to be understood
Well I can hear you
Everybody wants to be loved
Don’t give up
Because you are loved

You are loved
Don’t give up
It’s just the weight of the world
Don’t give up
Every one needs to be heard
You are loved

Leave a Reply

